2017 Educational Project Grant Information

Simply Smart Grants are offered by Knoxville TVA Employees Credit Union Foundation for Education to assist educators with classroom needs and projects. One grant is available to each public high school in the Credit Union's service area: Johnson City, as well as Blount, Hamblen, Jefferson, Knox, Loudon, Roane, Sevier and Sullivan counties.

Eligibility Criteria

  • Employed full-time as an educator at an eligible public high school
  • Intends to continue teaching in the consecutive school year
  • Projects must be conducted in the classroom or on-campus

Proposal Selections

In your own words respond to the following and submit with the grant application:

Project Description

Describe and outline in detail your proposed project. What key activities will you pursue, and why are they important? What is the time-frame for completing your project?

Student Growth and Learning

How will students benefit from your proposed project? What meaningful additions will this experience bring to your school or classroom? How many students will be impacted?

Budget Narrative

Provide budget details showing evidence of thoughtful planning and research by completing the budget narrative attached to the grant application.

If your estimated project cost exceeds $1,500, indicate which expenses the Simply Smart Grant will be applied toward. List any other funding sources that have been secured and how you intend to fund the entirety of the project.

Important Information

Application Deadline

To request an application, email Completed applications should be mailed to: Simply Smart, 301 Wall Avenue, Knoxville, TN 37902. Applications will be accepted September 1-November 1, 2017.

Recipient Notification

Recipients of the Simply Smart Grant will be notified via email by December 1, 2017.

Value and Use of Funds

Grants are valued up to $1,500 and must be used during the 2017-2018 school year.

Post-Grant Report

Recipients are required to submit the Post-Grant Report to the Foundation by June 1, 2018.



Eligible Schools

One SIMPLY SMART scholarship will be awarded to each of these public high schools in Blount, Hamblen, Jefferson, Knox, Loudon, Roane, Sevier and Sullivan counties, as well as Johnson City.

Blount County

Alcoa High School
Maryville High School
Heritage High School
William Blount High School

Hamblen County

Morristown East High School
Morristown West High School

Jefferson County

Jefferson County High School

Johnson City

Science Hill High School

Knox County

Austin East Magnet School
Bearden High School
Carter High School
Central High School
Farragut High School
Fulton High School
Gibbs High School
Halls High School
Hardin Valley High School
Karns High School
L&N STEM Academy
Dr. Paul L. Kelley Volunteer Academy
Powell High School
South Doyle High School
West High School

Loudon County

Greenback High School
Lenoir City High School
Loudon High School

Roane County

Harriman High School
Midway High School
Oliver Springs High School
Roane County High School
Rockwood High School

Sevier County

Gatlinburg-Pittman High School
Pigeon Forge High School
Sevier County High School
Seymour High School

Sullivan County

Dobyns-Bennett High School
Sullivan Central High School
Sullivan East High School
Sullivan North High School
Sullivan South High School
Tennessee High School